The Inaugural Cayman Islands Classic NCAA Basketball Tournament will take place on the Island of Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands on November 20-22, 2017.

The tournament features eight top Division 1 men’s basketball teams throughout the United States.  This year's teams will feature: Iowa, Cincinnati, Wyoming, UAB, Richmond, Louisiana Ragin Cajuns, Buffalo & South Dakota State.  All the tournament games will be played at the brand new John Gray High School gymnasium, just south of George Town. 

The Cayman Islands Classic is a three day event, with four games played each day, totaling 12 games.  “Playing this tournament in a venue alongside the most beautiful beaches in the world will make this an event that everyone in college basketball will be trying to get an opportunity to compete in for the future,” said tournament director Maury Hanks.. 

“This is a historic moment for sports in the Cayman Islands,” said the Honorable Osbourne Bodden, Minister for Sports in the Cayman Islands. “The support for the Cayman Basketball Classic from our islands will be absolutely tremendous and we welcome the opportunity to showcase our beautiful country to those fans who will follow their respective college teams from the United States. The Government is proud to support this event as we know it will be a huge boost to the economy.”

The tournament is sponsored by the Mountain West Conference, and promises to attract fans, alumni, tourists and media from all over the world.  “With a new arena and the tremendous hospitality of the Cayman Islands, we are excited to have a Mountain West team guaranteed a slot in this annual event,” said Dan Butterly, senior associate commissioner for the Mountain West Conference.

For more information on tickets, travel and everything relating to the tournament: visit http://caymanislandsclassic.com